Say “Texas and think BIG. Big country. Big hospitality. The state is so large – some 275,416 sq mi that encompass 254 counties – that the “big picture” can sometimes become a confusing jumble of cities and tons and lakes and parks. Texas is indeed a whole other country.

The state can be divided into 7 regions: the Big Bend Country region contains to national parks, as ell as cities such as Del Rio, El Paso, Midland and Odessa; the Gulf Coast, which stretches from the Texas-Louisiana border southward to Brownsville, and covers Beaumont, Houston, Galveston, and Corpus Christi.

The Hill Country encompasses the geographical center of the state and includes the capital city of Austin, as well as Fredericksburg. In the Panhandle Plains, you will find Abilene, Amarillo, Lubbock and Wichita Falls and Palo Duro Canyon State Park. The Piney Woods brings you a large segment of East Texas including Marshall, Texarkana and Tyler.

Prairies and Lakes sweeps down through the center of the state and embraces Bryan-College Station, Dallas, Fort Worth and Waco while the South Texas Plains presents the lower Rio Grande Valley towns of McAllen and Mission, along with Laredo and San Antonio to the north.