North America

North America is a continent in the Earth’s northern hemisphere and almost fully in the western hemisphere. It is bordered on the north by the Arctic Ocean, on the east by the North Atlantic Ocean, on the southeast by the Caribbean Sea, and on the south and west by the North Pacific Ocean; South America lies to the southeast, connected to North America by the isthmus of Panama.

North America consists of four countries: the United States of America, Canada, Mexico and Greenland. Also there is a small self-governing territory of France, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, located near the south shore of the Canadian island of Newfoundland.

North America is teaming with opportunities for exploration, adventure, fun, and relaxation. North American natives as well as travelers from Europe and other parts of the planet who have never ventured into the “New world” have many surprises in store for them. Those new to an area they would like to visit might do well to take a guided tour first.

It covers an area of about 24,490,000 km² (9,450,000 sq mi), or about 4.8% of the planet’s surface.