North America

North America is a continent in the Earth’s northern hemisphere and almost fully in the western hemisphere. It is bordered on the north by the Arctic Ocean, on the east by the North Atlantic Ocean, on the southeast by the Caribbean Sea, and on the south and west by the North Pacific Ocean; South America lies to the southeast, connected to North America by the isthmus of Panama.

North America consists of four countries: the United States of America, Canada, Mexico and Greenland. Also there is a small self-governing territory of France, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, located near the south shore of the Canadian island of Newfoundland.

North America is teaming with opportunities for exploration, adventure, fun, and relaxation. North American natives as well as travelers from Europe and other parts of the planet who have never ventured into the “New world” have many surprises in store for them. Those new to an area they would like to visit might do well to take a guided tour first.

It covers an area of about 24,490,000 km² (9,450,000 sq mi), or about 4.8% of the planet’s surface.

  • Montreal

    Montreal is both French and English speaking, and is the central city in Quebec.

  • Anchorage

    Anchorage is the largest city in Alaska, located in the Southcentral region. Anchorage is a cosmopolitan port city with a population of nearly 300,000.

  • Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, nicknamed “City of Lakes” and the “Mill City,” is in Hennepin County, the largest city in the state of Minnesota, & the 48th largest in the US.

  • San Diego

    The West Coast’s southernmost big city boasts sun and sand, along with SeaWorld and the world famous San Diego Zoo.